Holy Days of Obligation:
Jan. 1         Mary Mother of God
Aug. 15      The Assumption of Mary
Nov. 1       All Saints
Dec. 8        The Immaculate Conception
Dec. 25      Christmas

There are five precepts of the Church that are binding on all her members. They are "meant to guarantee to the faithful the very necessary minimum in the spirit of prayer and moral effort, in the growth in love of God and neighbor." Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC) #2041. The first precept is:  "You shall attend Mass on Sundays and on holy days of obligation and rest from servile labor." (CCC #2042) In the Diocese of Jefferson City, there are six holy days of obligation. All parishioners are expected to observe these days with the same fidelity as Sunday.  When Jan.1, Aug 15, or Nov 1 fall on either a Saturday or Monday there is no obligation to attend Mass.